Anisa Jackson

Work, Information, DJ, Contact


Smuggler Mine Program

Curatorial, Talks & Events

Cauleen Smith’s program GIMME SHELTER CINEGLYPHS takes its title from the Rolling Stones song of the same name, which Smith has remixed into what she calls electric chaos. Projections are placed at different sites inside the mine, using images that are laser printed onto 35mm polyester film and then re-digitized. The artist continues her recent engagement with geology here, contemplating the difference between a mine and a cave and the desire to return the mine to the mountain. The burrowing tunnels are a collaborative effort in cavity-making, and function as a shelter for people, lost animals, and space for wayward metals and minerals. Further, each node of Smith’s Smuggler Mine intervention will contemplate a different animal that passes through the Colorado region.

Michael B. Gillespie, Associate Professor of Film in the Department of Cinema Studies at New York University, will present Unspoken Dreams of Light. This program gathers multiple short films that pose challenging questions of time, place, culture, and history. Each film enacts a distinct politic of longing and memory meant to amend our understanding of film as art. These films will be in the same spirit as one of Mountain / Time’s core themes of re-mapping. The program includes films by Sky Hopinka, Tourmaline and Sasha Wortzel, Grace Passô, and Kevin Jerome Everson, among others.

Anisa Jackson’s unearthed presents a film program that situates the mine as a site of capitalist accumulation embedded within histories of racialization, racialized labor, and settler colonialism. The program is structured around themes of extractive economies, the geophysics of race, and Black/Indigenous geographies. This site-specific program will invite participants to consider how the mine, amongst other extractive practices, rearranges geologic formations, as well as the new forms of subjectivity that form in favor of collective liberation. unearthed includes films by Harun Farocki, Denise Ferreira da Silva and Arjuna Neuman, and Crystal Z Campbell.

More info